NEWS

New character/player, need advice

• 11 Replies

Zeroman

• Newb
« on: <11-02-15/1248:16> »
Hello!

I am completely new to Shadowrun and always had an interesting playing it and starting to learn how to play and how to run a Shadowrun game.
I made my first character over the weekend and am excited to try it in a play-by-post thread to get an idea how to play to make it easier to run for others.
The concept is a martial artist elf specializing in hand to hand combat. I am not using cyberware/bioware to affect my character's body and not using magic at the moment with him.
I only have the core rulebook right now, so I saw in Chummer that "Run and Gun" has more martial arts stuff in it and might be my answer.
I started playing Shadowrun Returns last night and I know its probably not the best representation of the PnP game but it seemed like my character concept was a little underwhelming compared to range combat or adepts.
Is this true in the PnP game? Am I not going to be able to be viable in combat with no cyberware/bioware or no chi magic? Or is there something I'm missing from not reading RnG yet?
If you want to see my character, he is in the Big O Black Book of Runners thread.

Thank you for any advice!
Thoughts
Zeroman Speech
Freyr Speech
Freyja Speech

[I did not make my avatar and give all credit to the artist that did.]

falar

• Omae
  • The Fourth Jesse
« Reply #1 on: <11-02-15/1324:02> »
Excellent hand-to-hand really can't be done without some level of augmentation or magic powers in the form of adept-sauce. There are a couple of reasons for this, but it's really down to the key concept of Shadowrun - everything comes with a price. If you want to be awesome at anything, you're going to pay for it either in augmentation or in magic.

Also, I'd be a little careful of the Martial Arts. There are a ton of options there, but until you've had a little experience with the system, it's really easy to pick up a bunch of stuff that's really ineffective.