NEWS

Core Books you should have

• 15 Replies

PixE

• Newb
« on: <09-27-18/0817:20> »
I apologise if this is in the wrong section for a start. I’m new to GM’ing 5th edition and was just wondering what books I needed. I have the core rulebook, alphaware, Run Faster & Splintered State. That should be enough for now? Right?

Fedifensor

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Omae
« Reply #1 on: <09-27-18/1020:43> »
Run and Gun is probably my most-used rulebook, aside from the core rulebook.

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #2 on: <09-27-18/1108:10> »
Shadowrun rules have always been partitioned into the "three worlds": Regular/Physical world, the Matrix rules, and Magic rules.  The Core rulebook thoroughly covers only the first, and gives a cursory treatment to the Matrix and Astral.  Even if you don't have any Deckers or Magicians, a GM will still want the rulebooks that are fully devoted to those aspects of Shadowrun (Data Trails and Street Grimoire) just so that you can adequately run that side of the game for the NPC opposition.

In prior editions the "rigger book" has been almost as necessary to understand Shadowrun, but in this edition the Rigger book is really more about giving players more toys/options.  The Core rulebook already tells the GM everything you really need to know about how vehicles/drones/chase combats work.
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

Finstersang

• Omae
« Reply #3 on: <09-27-18/1142:34> »
Hard to tell, honestly. It depends on which parts of the 6th world you are interested in, if you are looking more for inspiration and game hooks or actually usable rules and stats, and how much you want to moderate what your players can use for themselfes.