NEWS

Spell list help please?

• 5 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <01-13-19/2341:38> »
I'm finishing up an Alchemist to play in SRM.
Magic 6
I was wondering what spells would be most useful as command preparations.

Just in general.
I was already planning on having heal as a command so as long as he can see you, if you get hit he can heal you.
But what kind of utility spells would you think highly useful but underused?
I was considering Intelligence Boost for deckers.
He'd have a large storage of buff items to pass out to the group before each mission.
What kind of buffs would you like to have when you go on a run?

I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Michael Chandra

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Prime Runner
  • Question-slicing ninja
« Reply #1 on: <01-14-19/0436:35> »
Some random things:

- Combat Sense and Deflection, since it's a stackable combination that provides a significant amount of defense dice against ranged attacks.
- Initiative spell to boost people without Wired/Synaptic stuff
- Antidote in case you're tossing about toxins which focus mainly on bad effects (also very useful once combat drugs wear off)
- Detect Enemies Extended
- Mindnet Extended
How am I not part of the forum?? O_O I am both active and angry!

Beta

• Ace Runner
  • SR1 player, SR5 GM@FtF & player@PbP
« Reply #2 on: <01-14-19/1015:12> »
Do keep in mind that your hits when the preparation go off will tend to be lower than the hits of a regular mage (spellcasting averages 1/3 Spellcasting pool.  Preparations average 1/9 Alchemy pool + 2/9 preparation force).  So any spell that faces a resisting dice pool tends to be a lot weaker as a preparation, so I agree that boosts are a good place to focus.

Michael Chandra’s suggestions are all good.  Here are few other ideas: