NEWS

Persona, the existential crisis

• 43 Replies

忍

« on: <02-18-17/1626:40> »
Amelia wakes up and goes to the kitchen to start her day. She stands before her toaster and coffee maker (both are devices). She begins using her toaster to surf SmokinDesigns for an image to cheer her up (forms a persona). While swiping through the options, she decides to look up Soybuck's frappe-of-the-day on her coffee maker. To her dismay both the toaster and coffee maker shutdown and reboot. Amelia's morning is not so sunny-side up.

Quote from: Core 235
When a person uses a device to connect to the matrix, the device's icon is subsumed by the persona's icon . . . You can only run one persona at a time; switching requires you to reboot both the device you're currently on and the device to which you want to shift your persona.

Do I have this right?

Ghost Rigger

• Omae
« Reply #1 on: <02-18-17/1643:46> »
I'm not an expert on the Matrix, but I think this isn't the correct case. If she's accessing the Matrix just by pressing meatspace or even AR buttons on those devices, her Persona doesn't come into so let's assume she's doing all this wirelessly. In that case, she's connecting to the Matrix through the commlink (or cyberdeck or RCC) she's running her Persona on, and so there isn't any reason for any device to reboot.
After all you don't send an electrician to fix your leaking toilet.

A Guide to Gridguide

Kiirnodel

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Ace Runner
« Reply #2 on: <02-18-17/1649:33> »
While you are technically correct, the more likely scenario is that Amelia wakes up and grabs her commlink off her nightstand which forms her persona. She then accesses her coffee maker, which verifies ownership from the commlink and lets her do what she wants to do.