NEWS

(SR5)Adept with "nimble fingers" power reload Cavalier Champion

• 8 Replies

lichzeta

• Newb
« on: <03-10-20/0015:35> »
Hello

I'm new to SR5 and therefore, I checked some information on REDDIT,shadowruntabletop and other forums.

I've seen a lot of people talk about the trick that "An adept with 'nimble fingers' power can reload Cavalier Champion(Street Legal) in a free action"(and I thought that's really cool)

But some of my friends insist that the description of this power clearly states that only "Change Gun Mode, Insert Clip, Remove Clip, and Use Simple Device" can use free action, so any weapon other than "(c)" cannot be reloaded with free action.

How should i convince my friend?(Or be convinced?)

Or is there any official FAQ or Errata that can support this trick?
42 is the only true answer

Stainless Steel Devil Rat

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <03-10-20/0056:41> »
I'd say your friend has an inappropriately literal reading of the rule.  "Insert Clip" is a colloquial landmine as Shadowrun and real life disagree on what a "clip" is.  But more to the point of the flaw in your friend's reasoning:

The Insert Clip simple action (pg. 165, SR5) covers loading ALL ammo types, not just (c) ammo.  By your friend's reasoning, if Insert Clip doesn't cover (b) ammo, then there's no action possible to reload them.

Edit: note that I reversed my opinion downthread.  It's my opinion that the redditors are the ones taking the unreasonable leap with the rules, rather than your friend.
« Last Edit: <03-10-20/1324:18> by Stainless Steel Devil Rat »
RPG mechanics exist to give structure and consistency to the game world, true, but at the end of the day, you’re fighting dragons with algebra and random number generators.

Reaver

• Prime Runner
  • 60% alcohol 40% asshole...
« Reply #2 on: <03-10-20/1256:31> »