NEWS

Large Smuggling Compartment

• 12 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <04-29-19/1407:37> »
What is the capacity of the Large Smuggling compartments for the cyber legs and cyber torso?

How many micro, mini, or even small drones could I fit in a compartment?
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Tecumseh

• Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <04-29-19/1648:32> »
It's not defined. The Large Smuggling Compartment description says "think breadbox size as a guide" (p. 457, SR5) but it's up to the GM to interpret that.

This is actually relevant to one of my games right now. I believe I ruled 1 small drone could fit in a large smuggling compartment, although this was perhaps erring on the side of generosity. But, given the description of mini- and microdrones being the size of bugs, or eyeballs, it's easy to imagine dozens of these fitting into a large smuggling compartment. It probably comes down to what your GM has the patience for.

Beta

• Ace Runner
  • SR1 player, SR5 GM@FtF & player@PbP
« Reply #2 on: <04-29-19/1712:15> »
I always had a bit of trouble with that breadbox comparison.  To calibrate my thoughts on a breadbox I took to the internet, and it seems to conclude that a typical breadbox is around 8"*9"*16" ( or ~20 by 22 by 40 cm).  I can't imagine a spot on the ~human body that you could unobtrusively put a compartment that big without disrupting function.

Tecumseh

• Prime Runner
« Reply #3 on: <04-30-19/0025:15> »
Well use "a loaf of bread" for your comparison then, or a loaf pan that you would use to bake bread. Then you're closer to 9" x 6" x 3", which also seems like it would fit the heavy pistol from the description. That seems like something that could fit in a large compartment in a thigh or somewhere similar.

Wakshaani

• Ace Runner
« Reply #4 on: <04-30-19/0030:07> »
A Small drone is about the size of a cat or a Roomba.