NEWS

Im really struggling as a newb with SR6

• 16 Replies

Gmanjkd

• Newb
« on: <02-13-22/1134:57> »
Hello, Im still very new to SR, with SR6 being my 1st dive into the game.  Everyone in the community has been very helpful
 and welcoming.  Thank you for that, you all have been great.  BUT as far as SR6 is concerned im REALLY STRUGGLING to like it.
  So far i have purchased more tha I have red but i have read the starter set, core book, Cutting black, 30 nights, Slip Streams,
Freeing Seattle, Assassins Night, Kechibi Code, and the Neo Anarchist Street-Pedia.  The more I read....the less i like the game.
 I like the streamlined skill list, I like the action economy, i like the Decking, I like the art. 

Im really having a difficult time with the books/fiction and TONE.
 When i look at the SR art and what is presented to the new player/purchaser I see Bladerunner + Magic
BUT the fiction and sourcebooks really feel like what im getting is more D&D + Guns. 
Its not gritty cyberpunk genre but more high fantasy Captain Planet...

As a new player/gm it feels like the books have been mislabeled. 
 EXAMPLE - 30 nights and Assassins Night are Labeled "Campaign Books".  hmmm,  Campaigns are a group of linked adventures. 
Adventures are a defined scenario  with scenes, timelines, a plot, characters, enemies "Maps" if the location warrants one etc.
 Campaigns are Harlequin, Brainscan, Horror on the Orient Express, The Enemy Within.   
In order for 30 Nights to qualify as a Campaign it must 1st have adventures.... I dont see that it has "defined" adventures
and therefore cant qualify as a campaign book... As a newb to SR when i see Campaign Book listed on the cover
 Im expecting a "Campaign" as outlined above.....How would I as a newb expect anything else.
 I propose that SR Campaign Books would be better served with the Title Changed to Plot Sourcebook as they do in