NEWS

Does alchemy suck?

• 56 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <09-17-18/1708:36> »
I’m intrigued by alchemy.
I’ve got someone brewing in the in my back brain but was wondering about alchemy, preparations, artificing and such.

Do any of you play heavily with alchemy?
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

Jack_Spade

• Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <09-17-18/1726:16> »
It took three books to make Alchemy somewhat viable.
The biggest drawback is that you need about a three times as large dp as a spell slinger for the same result.
But since Forbidden Arcana made longterm storage of preparations possible, at least now you can use downtime to prepare

talk think matrix

To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield
Revenant Kynos Isaint Rex

HP15BS

• Chummer
« Reply #2 on: <09-17-18/1810:13> »
The biggest drawback is that you need about a three times as large dp as a spell slinger for the same result.

Without Practiced Alchemist, that's basically true. But with it, a fairly high initiate grade will be enough to bring your final pool up to par.
(6Mag+6Alchemy= 4 average; 6Force= 2 average resist → 4-2 = 2 Potency
 ↳ 6Force+2Potency+1 Practiced Alchemist+3 initiate grade = final pool of 12)

Add Firebringer mentor spirit and a spec in the appropriate trigger, and you get those 12 dice at initiate grade 2 instead (grade 1 for manipulation spells).  Which is good, because there aren't all that many metamagics that a dedicated alchemist would want.

As you probably know, alchemy has two main benefits over sorcery to compensate for the lack of flexibility and raw power: Deal with all of your drain before the run, and Sustain spells for a few minutes without penalty.