NEWS

Help understanding new Martial Arts quality from Arsenal

• 48 Replies

Devil

• Omae
« Reply #30 on: <10-14-10/1054:03> »
Heck yeah. I'll have to look into it.

I'm in the US, so it's probably a great deal harder to learn here.

Usda Beph

• Omae
  • aka Black Angus
« Reply #31 on: <10-15-10/0826:46> »
Yeah, I find the bokken thing kinda screwy myself, although I can rationalize it. I guess it's the difference between using it as a practice weapon (Blades) or as a lethal weapon (Clubs).
I think the distinction is the type damage a Bokken does. Though it is shaped like a blade and functions like a blade, it does not cut like a blade, hence the club classification. :)
Yeah, I'm A Minotaur! You Gotta Beef with that?
I'm a Minotaur not a bully!
I studied at the Rocky Mountain Culinary School.I specialized in Seafood.
My Dad worked out of el Toro In New Mexico.

Devil

• Omae
« Reply #32 on: <10-15-10/1316:28> »
Clearly, but that doesn't make it make sense.

Bradd

• Omae
« Reply #33 on: <10-16-10/0722:12> »
I dunno, it kinda makes sense. If you use sword technique with a bokken you're not going to get sword results. Although I dunno that you'd do any better treating it like a baton. Sure there are legends of Musashi killing people with them, but that's really not what they're for.

Devil

• Omae
« Reply #34 on: <10-16-10/1005:33> »
You use them as you would use a sword. That's what they are. Practice swords.

The effect might differ, since it is a blunt force weapon, but the means of application would be nearly the same.

I mean, you don't think people who practice Kendo would suck with real swords, do you?

This is all assuming that you don't use some weird fancy style like Iaido. Iaido uses a metal practice sword anyway, from what I've heard.

Critias

• Freelancer
  • Prime Runner
  • Company Elf
« Reply #35 on: <10-16-10/1335:06> »