NEWS

Hana

• 6 Replies

theoretical_cat

• Newb
  • ((cave nerd))
« on: <04-08-12/2033:43> »
I'm slowly working up the backstory for my new (first) character, Hana.  Most of it's vague, but last night I scribbled down how she met her fixer.  So, here it is, a slightly edited version of a story I wrote while half asleep.  At least she finally has a name she can go by!  Critique welcome.  I'm new to this setting and have been pretty vague to avoid blatant errors.

For practice for pbp, I'm going to mark "speech", {{comm}}, and thoughts.

[spoiler=Table of Contents]
These can be read in post order or chronological order.
1. You Are What You Eat (3/27/70) this post
2. Security (3/12/70)
3. Security, part 2 (3/12/70)
[/spoiler]

March 27, 2070

"Scheduled maintenance" my ass, Julianne thought as she ran away from the building that had been her "home" for a few days.  They're supposed to put up signs a minimum of five days in advance.  She hadn't taken into account the fact that this district rarely saw anything resembling proper procedure.  The SINless squatters weren't likely to protest.

In her anger, she'd also forgotten to take into account that she was unfamiliar with the area.  She soon found herself at a dead end, in a deserted alleyway, with no idea how to get back to familiar territory.  She stopped to catch her breath, and sat down in the corner to rest before deciding what to do next.  The relative safety of solitude proved to be too much--after all the discipline she had applied to maintain her composure, the mixed anger, fear, and relief caused her to finally break down and cry.