NEWS

Maps and Building Layouts

• 9 Replies

Dropship

• Newb
« on: <06-08-14/0325:49> »
I'm new to Shadowrun, got into it recently from Shadowrun Returns and looks like I'm going to be the GM for our new group. I think I've got the rules down for the most part but my concern is actually providing the game to my players. They're all friends of mine and probably aren't expecting a huge amount of detail to begin with, but I'd like some advice.

What sort of preparation do you do for a run? Do you prepare (covered) maps for your players once they are at a location, or only if they have done the legwork for it? How much of the surrounding road network do you plan?
Do you have copies of maps for yourself, with any cameras, security/drone patrols and the like?

Namikaze

• Freelancer Ltd
  • Prime Runner
  • I'm a Ma'fan of Shadowrun!
« Reply #1 on: <06-08-14/1427:24> »
Yes to all of those, and no to all of those.  What I do is I prepare my games in scenes.  Each scene has a type: combat, investigation, interrogation, etc.  If you consider that in most investigation scene,s, a map will be next to useless, I don't bother with making maps of those areas.  For combat scenes, I generally prepare a small map so that we can keep track of locations easily.  For scenes with a lot of talking, like a meeting, I will usually forgo the map but sometimes I'll throw it in to make the players think combat could happen.
Feel free to keep any karma you earned illicitly, it's on us.

Quote from: Stephen Covey
Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.

cantrip

• Omae
« Reply #2 on: <06-09-14/1301:08> »
I'm a player turned GM (recent) and am working through similar questions. Originally, I thought winging it would be fine -- which for certain GMs can work. I've had some great roleplaying with GMs flying by the seat of their pants. But in those cases, it was a well developed world that they were drawing from.