Shadowrun Play > Gamemasters' Lounge

New Gm needs Tips

(1/3) > >>

jakk9000:
Hi all I am a newb GM and I need help.

How do I handle Players getting contacts in game?

Tips for noob shadowrun runs?

How to generate npcs for combat that should rarely happen I hope?

GM Screen and where can I find a hard copy?

Kot:

--- Quote from: jakk9000 on ---How to generate npcs for combat that should rarely happen I hope?

--- End quote ---
Player Contacts are NPC's whose background and character you discuss with your players. And you have an easy Loyalty/Connections rating to help you with that, so feel free to take it as a good suggestion of how good and how friendly that contact NPC is. And remember, they're still NPC's, so they can get pissed by player's actions, die in a shoot-out, if they get involved (by the players), or suffer other conswquences of player actions.

--- Quote from: jakk9000 on ---Tips for noob shadowrun runs?

--- End quote ---
Keep it small, but hard. I'll post a few suggestions:
Smash and Grab:  Infiltrating a small-time razor gang turf to get an item/package they managed to steal from the employer.
Wetwork: Cacking a violent pimp/dealer who hurt someone important to your contact.
Data Steal: Getting some dusty old data from a barely working terminal in the barrens, where wild things lurk.
Bodyguard: Protecting a salarywoman from stalker-turned-vr-lover.
Acquisition: Delivering a fresh or live (bonus!) Wyrd Mantis to a talislegger.
Tracking/Shadowing: Finding the source of faulty cybereyes hitting the streets, that are bypassing the local channels.

--- Quote from: jakk9000 on ---How do I handle Players getting contacts in game?

--- End quote ---
You don't really need to worry. There are enough of them in the Rulebook (use Contacts and Proffesionals as framework) and Runner's Companion. And they either pay for them with Karma, or do something to get their Loyalty in-game (like saving their ass from a gang, or corp hitmen).