NEWS

Finding out a squadmate is a Technomancer...

• 41 Replies

Warwraith

• Newb
« on: <01-21-14/1942:26> »
I'm a veteran of Shadowrun editions 1 & 2, haven't played in years (about a month after 3rd ed came out) so I'm really unfamiliar with technomancers. Reading the book makes it sound like finding out someone was a technomancer is just about the worst thing they could be.  My question is generally how freaked out would the typical 'runner be if they found out a member of their team was a technomancer?

Lickintoad

• Newb
« Reply #1 on: <01-21-14/2130:25> »
Depends on the group.  If the group is a close-knit group of friends, then it may cause some concern, but they'd probably eventually get over it.  The problems might simply be an issue of trust ("You didn't tell us!") to outright hatred ("VKs are a blight upon metahumanity!").  A more mercenary team could get through it fairly easily.  The technomancer helps them make money, and so s/he might be worth the risk.  Have a guy like Clockwork in your group, though, and it could fall apart.

I've been playing a technomancer for years now, and she's never admitted to any of her teammates that she's a VK.  The shaman knows something's weird with her aura, and her fixer boyfriend actually knows.  But the team itself doesn't.  They're about to find out, if only because I can't justify buying a deck to keep up the illusion.  I have been wanting to do this reveal for a while now, though.  Should be fun.

Reaver

• Prime Runner
  • 60% alcohol 40% asshole...
« Reply #2 on: <01-21-14/2142:35> »
Agreed, it varies by group.

Most of the hysterics over TMs is the same as it was over the return of magic... but their was a genuine concern over TMs and matrix security as they seemed to be able to crack into anything hooked up to the matrix rather easily.

At my table one TM suffered from terminal lead poisoning when the group found out they were a TM.

In an other game,  they were fine with it....