NEWS

[SR5] Technomancers

• 20 Replies

Longes

• Newb
« on: <10-31-13/0340:13> »
Hello everyone!

I'm new to SR5, and I'm trying to build a technomancer. The problem I run into however, is that a TM seems to be worse than hacker on every front, especially if Black IC comes into play (Stun AND Physical, brrr). Am I missing something? Can someone provide a decent Technomancer build for study?

Elektrycerze3

• Omae
  • Russian Decker
« Reply #1 on: <10-31-13/0506:26> »
Hoi.

You are not alone :D Consider reading this topic. Quick summary: Drain codes are seriously off; TMs are weaker than Deckers. Some folks debate the latter.
Speech | Matrix/Communication | Thought | Astral
“Forget hackers, I have my buddies Smith & Wesson: innovators of the point-and-click interface.”

Longes

• Newb
« Reply #2 on: <10-31-13/0522:30> »
I'm also VERY confused by the following paragraph (SR5, p.250):

If you’re a technomancer, you have a Resonance attribute. This attribute represents how connected you are to the Resonance. Your Resonance rating affects all of your Resonance abilities and your living persona. Your natural Resonance maximum is your Essence rounded down. Whenever you lose Essence (after character generation), you lose an equal amount of Resonance, rounded up. If your Resonance ever reaches zero, you lose the Technomancer quality and all Resonance abilities.

Does this mean what I think it means? That technomancers lose Resonance for every fraction of Essence?

Elektrycerze3

• Omae
  • Russian Decker
« Reply #3 on: <10-31-13/0525:29> »
Does this mean what I think it means? That technomancers lose Resonance for every fraction of Essence?

That is probably a mistake. It has been submitted for Errata, so don't worry. On the other hand, if your GM insists on reading it that way, you can always augment the hell out of your TM during character creation, as by RAW it doesn't affect Resonance.