NEWS

Magical Services

• 8 Replies

Nomad Zophiel

• Omae
  • Zophiel by name. Nomad by profession.
« on: <11-04-10/0254:20> »
I noticed Unwired had a great section on the prices of various services. I was wondering if there was something similar for magical services. I checked Street Magic and it seems to have everything but labor costs. There are a handful of Manipulation spells that a budding mage who doesn't want to work for the corps could make good money with. Clean Water, Fashion, Fix, Makeover, various Healing spells and Preserve look like they would be decent, licensed, above board services. Alter Memory isn't as legal but people would be willing to pay quite a bit. Is there anything official or is it pretty much "what the market will bear"?

FastJack

• Administrator
  • Prime Runner
  • Kids these days...
« Reply #1 on: <11-04-10/0902:17> »
Oooh... good question. Maybe there might room for this in the upcoming Attitude book? What do you think JMH?

Longshot23

• Omae
« Reply #2 on: <11-04-10/1050:49> »
I have a vague memory of seeing prices for magical services somewhere in the SR library . . .

It might even have been in a book I don't have.  maybe one of 'The Shadowrun Supplementals' had something on the subject.  If I find it, I'll say where.

FoxBoy

• Chummer
« Reply #3 on: <11-04-10/1437:29> »
Considering how rare magic is suppose to be, I'm thinking it's what the market will bear. And mages should be able to demand a lot.

1% of the populace are magical (by my last reckoning). That's hardly enough to support a magic driven market without their prices going sky high. Plus the effect of even a simple fashion spell by mages getting into designing clothes can be crazy. The mage could take about any fabric, hit it with a high enough fashion spell and in the space of 10 minutes, have EXACTLY what was in his mind now in reality, perfectly tailored for his client or model. Fashion spell overcasted for 10 successes? Watch out runway...