Author Topic: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ  (Read 240336 times)

IntrepidVector

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 78
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1605 on: (05:27:19/01-11-17) »
Ah, well damn. Everything costs so much money :p

One last question for now: Does it say anywhere how many Take Aim actions a drone can perform? On PG. 271 of Core, a character has a drone take several, so it at least seems possible. Substitute Pilot for Willpower, perhaps?

Edit: Also: What can an AI use as dice pools when jumped in to a drone from their RCC?
-Can they use an autosoft in place of their skill or is that only when loaded into a slot on drone itself?
-If they use an autosoft instead of their skill, can they still use their Attribute, or are they restricted to using the drone's Pilot?

I'm hoping to be able to use Reaction (based on Data Processing for an AI) + Autosoft to drive a drone/vehicle, basically.
« Last Edit: (04:05:08/01-12-17) by IntrepidVector »

Ionic

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • *Hack the planet*
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1606 on: (15:01:38/02-14-17) »
If I may interrupt, chummers...

Quote
Resonance [Program]: This echo lets you copy the effects of one common or hacking program (p. 245). Can be taken once per type of program

This Echo is from the basic rulebook but now there are more programs available in Data Trails. Can you use these program effects from Data Trails as well with the Echo Resonance Program? Would be very useful with the one that boosts your Sleaze attribute by +1 to 5 while causing static as well. ::)

Darkseid

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1607 on: (22:54:56/02-14-17) »
Ok chummers, can regeneration heal biofeedback damage? I would think it would fall under neurologic damage and be exempt?
Looking at a player with a dwarven decker using immortal flower.

Duellist_D

  • Chummer
  • **
  • Posts: 198
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1608 on: (05:07:02/02-16-17) »
If I may interrupt, chummers...

Quote
Resonance [Program]: This echo lets you copy the effects of one common or hacking program (p. 245). Can be taken once per type of program

This Echo is from the basic rulebook but now there are more programs available in Data Trails. Can you use these program effects from Data Trails as well with the Echo Resonance Program? Would be very useful with the one that boosts your Sleaze attribute by +1 to 5 while causing static as well. ::)
A program is a program, so yeah, why not?
The page number shouldn't confuse you, they could hardly anticipate on which page in which unnamed book they'll put further progs.

Ionic

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • *Hack the planet*
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1609 on: (05:57:26/04-16-17) »
Another one:
Can I stack the transgenic trait "Synaptic Accelerator" from Bodyshop (+1 Ini. +1 D6) with the Physical Adept power of "Improved Reflexes" to gain 5D6 Initiative?
I am unsure whether transgenic enhancements are technical enhancements or if only bioware and cyberware implantation counts?
Thanks

Darrek Workman

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1610 on: (00:53:04/05-03-17) »
Questions

1. Can you power bleed essence drain and use that to permanently buff your character's essence?

2. Can a spirit use endowment to give another character endowment? Say, a critter has an interesting ability and some smart alec thinks to summon a spirit to given the critter endowment and then convince the critter to give the character the critter's ability with endowment?

3. Power Foci also add dice to enchanting pools, so could a mage create a power foci and use it to create a better foci?

4. Spirit pact and hidden life combined with endowment: could a mage make a spirit with spirit pact or hidden life give the spirit power to his ally spirit and then have his ally use the power on/with him?  Would the spirit pact or hidden life end when the endowment wears off?

marfish

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1611 on: (09:35:06/06-15-17) »
Quote
Lockpick set: These mechanical burglary devices have undergone only slight improvements in the last several centuries. They are necessary tools for picking locks.

This confuse me quite a bit...
my concern is: Is "lockpick set" real device?
Can it be hacked? Can Analysis Device spell have effects on it?

Or is the "device"  just another error?

Reaver

  • Prime Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 5312
  • 60% alcohol 40% asshole...
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1612 on: (13:37:44/06-15-17) »
Quote
Lockpick set: These mechanical burglary devices have undergone only slight improvements in the last several centuries. They are necessary tools for picking locks.

This confuse me quite a bit...
my concern is: Is "lockpick set" real device?
Can it be hacked? Can Analysis Device spell have effects on it?

Or is the "device"  just another error?

Its a device in the sense that it is an actual physical object. Most lockpick sets are slim bars of hardened steel that are manually manipulated to depress the timblers in a lock.....

So there is no real moving parts or electronic parts..... which limits the effect of things like  analyize device... or even hacking (again, because its essentially just a hunk of metal).


Also note that lockpicks only work on mechanical locks. So things like a maglock can not be opened with lockpicks. (Just as an ordinary padlock can not be opened with a matrix test)
Where am I going? And why am I in a hand basket ???

Remember: You can't fix Stupid. But you can beat on it with a 2x4 until it smartens up! Or dies.

The Bald Man

  • Chummer
  • **
  • Posts: 163
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1613 on: (13:49:46/06-16-17) »
Quote
Lockpick set: These mechanical burglary devices have undergone only slight improvements in the last several centuries. They are necessary tools for picking locks.

This confuse me quite a bit...
my concern is: Is "lockpick set" real device?
Can it be hacked? Can Analysis Device spell have effects on it?

Or is the "device"  just another error?

Its a device in the sense that it is an actual physical object. Most lockpick sets are slim bars of hardened steel that are manually manipulated to depress the timblers in a lock.....

So there is no real moving parts or electronic parts..... which limits the effect of things like  analyize device... or even hacking (again, because its essentially just a hunk of metal).


Also note that lockpicks only work on mechanical locks. So things like a maglock can not be opened with lockpicks. (Just as an ordinary padlock can not be opened with a matrix test)

I don't see why Analyse Device Spell wouldn't work.  As far as I can tell it would work on a knife or sword.  It should wok on lockpicks. 
Arguably, it would work better on lockpicks than most other equipment because of the relatively low Object Resistance.

marfish

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1614 on: (10:04:00/07-30-17) »
One minor issue:
According to the Range Table (p. 185), the Missile Launcher has a minimum range of 20m. However, according to the Street Gear (p. 435), the minimum range is 10m.

So...which one is valid?

Sphinx

  • Chummer
  • **
  • Posts: 231
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1615 on: (15:02:10/07-30-17) »
One minor issue: According to the Range Table (p. 185), the Missile Launcher has a minimum range of 20m. However, according to the Street Gear (p. 435), the minimum range is 10m. So...which one is valid?

I'd say 20m, since 10m isn't enough distance to be safely outside the blast radius.

marfish

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: [SR5] Rules Clarifications and FAQ
« Reply #1616 on: (08:40:06/07-31-17) »
One minor issue: According to the Range Table (p. 185), the Missile Launcher has a minimum range of 20m. However, according to the Street Gear (p. 435), the minimum range is 10m. So...which one is valid?

I'd say 20m, since 10m isn't enough distance to be safely outside the blast radius.

well, the save distance for grenade launchers was only about 5m, which was not outside the blast radius either.