Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
Rules and such / Re: Rambling questions on SINs
« Last post by Longshot23 on Today at 06:21:45 »
There is . . . something like a shadow investment house mentioned in various places in the SR lore. Most recently in the SR4 book Vice, though it got previous mentions starting in SR3. It's not unique either.
2
Errata / Re: The Official Scoop on Official Shadowrun Errata
« Last post by SlashXVI on Today at 04:07:50 »
there are a few errata team members continuing our work however sadly our leader has been awol for months and most of the errata team has disappeared due to the constant forum outages and have not returned.

i hope at some point someone in the future catalyst will come back and give a shit, until then myself and a few other dedicated errata members continue to toil in enforced secrecy waiting for the day that someone does.

best of luck out there

Well damn, but then again I guess bad news is batter than no news. I really hope the project is not completely dead (can you publish anything without a leader?). Looking at the community at large, there are probably enough people willing to work with you guys (heck I would if I had any kind of references to qualify me for that job), though that is probably not on your minds right now, as there is little reason in finding people to do work that may never see the light of day. 
Just let me say that I appreciate the work you have done and are still doing and I hope I keep seeing you around.
3
Catalyst's Shadowrun Products / Re: Upcoming Shadowrun releases
« Last post by belaran on Today at 02:52:25 »
"These are relevant to my interests", "shut up and take my money", "I'd like to know more".
LOL  8)

+1 ! :)

And thanks to AJ for the info!
4
Rules and such / Re: Does receiving a charge cost an action?
« Last post by Marcus on Today at 02:21:09 »
I read this section twice went back and read charge attack twice and unless you deiced to use an active defense I'm not convinced you do. As far as i can tell you can just take Reaction+Int+1 as your defense, even if you did take active defense it would be -5 initiative hit and then go i guess. It's a lot easier to follow if your using some kind of counter attack effect, but nothing lists an action type and all says defense test. Anyone else have thoughts on this?
5
Rules and such / Does receiving a charge cost an action?
« Last post by brasso on Today at 01:43:06 »
The core combat rules say to receive a charge you have to have a delayed action. Do you need to then spend this action I guess? I assume it's complex? That's quite expensive for a +1 on defense test :/
6
General Gaming / Re: Dice Kickstarters
« Last post by cantrip on (23:34:27/02-23-18) »
Yeah - I'm going to pick up at least one.  ;D

While not dice per se, I ran across this KS in it's last 48 hrs:
Dicetopia
7
Rules and such / Re: Is it possible to run Autosofts on multiple drones?
« Last post by Marcus on (22:47:16/02-23-18) »
Best way to look at it then is one autosoft to one drone (or to one RCC).  If the drone/RCC gets bricked you can reinstall the autosoft, but you can't install the autosoft on any OTHER drone/RCC ever because of undefined in-universe reasons?

(btw that's not being cheeky, that's honestly seeming like a reasonable synthesis to me)
Baring someone finding something I overlooked that would be how I would play it. But to be totally honest if I was running home game style I'd probably put back in the updated variant of the 4th rules, there would software rolls involved and failure would mean losing the autosoft in question, and the update being something along the lines of as soon as you turn them on the GOD starts looking for them. (Don't get caught!). But I love the drama so take that big grain of salt.
8
Best way to look at it then is one autosoft to one drone (or to one RCC).  If the drone/RCC gets bricked you can reinstall the autosoft, but you can't install the autosoft on any OTHER drone/RCC ever because of undefined in-universe reasons?

(btw that's not being cheeky, that's honestly seeming like a reasonable synthesis to me)
9
This isnít our world. This is a universe where hyper capitalism has won is such a big way very little escapes the corporations notice. That means everything is done in the name of making more profit and preventing ways of losing means of profit.
Making a program capable of being copied means losing sales and profit so everything is done to prevent that both in coding the programs both also in the drones themselves Iím sure.
10
Rules and such / Re: Is it possible to run Autosofts on multiple drones?
« Last post by Marcus on (21:01:40/02-23-18) »
I appreciate the discussion as I honestly am looking for opinions about how it should go.  I'm asking for a SRM context where one isn't supposed to just dictate a "house rule" about how he wants it to go :)

Though I'm not clear on what you're saying about my question on whether a 2nd drone of the same make/model/manufacture can use the 1st's autosoft if the 1st isn't using it anymore (drone was destroyed, or software got uninstalled, either way).

Under raw it doesn't say the software is destroy when the drone is, so assuming that software didn't come as part of the done my rule would be you can move it. But it doesn't say you can ether. So GM call. Way back software were all literal chips, and decks were just programs slots. But we all know that, this stuff lives in the cloud these days, so not having copying rules really doesn't bother me.

Does that open up the exploit where you only a couple lisceanes and run them only on the drones you need them? Sure it does, and I'll agree that probably not what's intended, but there has to be given and take somewhere.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10