NEWS

Building the Library

• 3 Replies

Chalkarts

• Omae
  • I'm a Street Painter in South Georgia.
« on: <05-16-15/1050:43> »
I'm an old school runner, played since second edition. 
The only gaming books I currently own are the 2nd and 4th ed Core book(and a lot of Battletech).
I've decided that since most of my gaming library had been depleted in the past couple years it was time to rebuild it.
The game I've decided to focus on is Shadowrun 5th edition.
It's gong to be slow going to get all the books but I'm committed, someday I might actually get to play again, lol.

I have a couple questions for the forums.
#1 is 6th edition coming any time soon?  I'd hate to drop a lot of Nuyen then have the new edition come along and make my collection old hat.

#2 I know the core book will be my first purchase but from there where should I go?  Does anyone have any recommendations for books and modules that I absolutely must get or any that can easily wait?

#3 How are the novels?  I wanted to devour the fiction as well as the game itself.  Are there any MUST READ novels or are they standard gaming novel quality? 

I'd love to be able to sit back and see a beautiful completed Library of SR books, both gaming and fiction novels, adorning my shelf.
Any advice you can give me on a good order to proceed in would be greatly appreciated. 

Catalyst is set to make a depressing amount of money off of me in the next couple years, lol.
Modify message
I paint the pavement.  It's what I do.  Check it out on Instagram, @Chalkarts

AJCarrington

• Global Moderator
  • Ace Runner
« Reply #1 on: <05-16-15/1700:55> »
Welcome!! Answers, in order as follows:

1 - no plans for 6e on the radar as far as I know...still in the process of building out the rest of the core books for 5e, with Data Trails (Matrix) due to hit for Origins and Chromed Flesh on track for this fall (maybe even GenCon).