NEWS

how to manage Nuyen resources - as a new GM?

• 4 Replies

kevin perrine

• Newb
« on: <04-17-12/2233:04> »
    One of the things that I see as very important in Shadowrun is the "economy" of the game. Because (correct me if I'm wrong) but the NEED to do missions/Shadowruns all comes down to the payment. If you HAVE everything you need for resources/gear, etc... Why take missions (especially the harder/scarier ones)??

That said.
    I'm new to GMing Shadowrun 4E.
    So...
    I'd love any advice on ideas, shortcuts, hints, help on HOW to pay-attention to, "manage", plan, or give out resources. Ideas for NOT "overpaying" the Shadowrunners, or having them get *TOO MUCH* too quickly. (note - I don't want to need to "plan" Mr. Johnson screwing or stealing from the PCs to "fix" this all the time, if I give them too much).

On that note.
    What are the things I need to watch and have the Shadowrunners "PAY" for monthly? Such as their Lifestyles, etc...
    Do you keep a tight-reign on the resources like AMMO? How do you plan that best? and what other "minor" resources are there (like Ammo) to consider??

any simple techniques?
    are there any spread-sheets or checklists or anything for a GM to use to manage this?
    anything else?

thanks!!

All4BigGuns

• Prime Runner
« Reply #1 on: <04-17-12/2345:25> »
First off, don't do this "lump sum and then make them divide" stuff. It is just a needless hassle. Secondly, figure out which of your players has the most expensive lifestyle and make the pay for each mission at least double that. That way they'll have enough left after lifestyles to save up for gear upgrades. Don't be stingy on karma either, the Awakened characters need that more than anything else to advance.
(SR5) Homebrew Archetypes

Tangled Currents (Persistent): 33 Karma, 60,000 nuyen

Nebular

• Newb
« Reply #2 on: <04-17-12/2349:09> »