NEWS

How do you determine which reagents a tradition uses?

• 13 Replies

Senko

• Ace Runner
« on: <08-15-17/2024:29> »
I've been looking back over the alternative traditions (vodoo, tarot, Islamic) and nearly all don't seem to have a list of appropriate reagents for them. Do you make up some that suit the tradition in your opinion, work out if it's shamanic or hermetic and assign the same type of reagents as those, something else?

The_Machine

• Newb
  • Dwarf Street Samurai with a penchant for driving
« Reply #1 on: <08-15-17/2030:33> »
I'm no expert but from an IRL standpoint most of them have real world counterparts that you can probably find reagents for. Maybe for Islamic IRL they use Frankincense as a religious thing so that could be a reagent in SR
"Well no one said I couldn't take it."

Rosa

• Omae
« Reply #2 on: <08-16-17/0747:41> »
I would say it depends on how thorough you want to be. If it's just for a general feel then dividing them into those with shamanic leanings and those with hermetic leanings would be good enough. If you want to be more specific then I would indeed take inspiration from their RL rituals and also from the geographical region from which they originate.

Senko

• Ace Runner
« Reply #3 on: <08-16-17/1403:46> »
I see may  need to make a list then thanks.

ShadowcatX

• Omae
« Reply #4 on: <08-16-17/2252:42> »
Keep in mind a cat shaman and an eagle shaman might find very different reagents in the same place. Or two chaos magicians might. Or black magicians. Feel free to give things a personal touch to the magician who gathered it.

Senko

• Ace Runner
« Reply #5 on: <08-17-17/0035:36> »
I had the impression that reagents were tied to a tradition not a person although there are some like orchalcum that can be used by any tradition so hmmmm.

firebug

• Errata Coordinator
  • Prime Runner
  • Scraping the bottom of the Resonance Barrel
« Reply #6 on: <08-17-17/0146:13> »