NEWS

Urban tileset for VTT

• 5 Replies

ImaginalDisc

• Omae
« on: <03-25-14/1326:16> »
I have been using Roll20 for my online group for about seven months now.

Recently I paid for the mentor subscription, and a bunch of artwork on it to make more detailed virtual tabletop maps. There's a problem, however. There's only one decent outdoor street tileset and it's .png so it's a huge RAM hog.

I'm looking for a way to build maps outside of Roll20 and upload them into it when I am done. I suppose it's most effective to learn GIMP and get cracking. Are there any free tilesets worth working with?

forgarn

• Newb
  • Catalyst Demo Team Agent
« Reply #1 on: <03-25-14/1449:13> »
I have not use Roll20 at all so I am not sure.  I use MapTools and there is a huge number of downloads, etc. that can be found in the forums.  And since the program loads on your computer, you can create the maps offline and then when you are playing, they load into the players screen real easy.  Have played across the Atlantic with friends in Holland and there is very little to no lag what-so-ever.

ImaginalDisc

• Omae
« Reply #2 on: <03-25-14/1500:22> »
I have not use Roll20 at all so I am not sure.  I use MapTools and there is a huge number of downloads, etc. that can be found in the forums.  And since the program loads on your computer, you can create the maps offline and then when you are playing, they load into the players screen real easy.  Have played across the Atlantic with friends in Holland and there is very little to no lag what-so-ever.

Can I make a map in maptool and then save it as a .jpg, .gif or other file type I could upload into roll20?

forgarn

• Newb
« Reply #3 on: <03-26-14/1232:14> »