NEWS

Active v Knowledge skills

• 17 Replies

Usda Beph

• Omae
  • aka Black Angus
« on: <10-08-10/1150:27> »
Ok so I'm getting more intuned with how things are working in the Run. I have also been using the Excel Runner spreadsheet and it has a nice long list of Knowledge skills. SOme of them overlap active skils. So do these have synergy with one another? Does haveing knowledge Intimidation add to my active attempt to scare teh piss outa some chummer? Kinda like threatening to eat a leaf off of some sacred tree would intimidate an elf but to a troll he/she might just break out some Thousand Island.

So I've known some games that allow synergy of things like this where the knowledge skill adds like 1/2 the levels to a roll. Anything like that here?
Yeah, I'm A Minotaur! You Gotta Beef with that?
I'm a Minotaur not a bully!
I studied at the Rocky Mountain Culinary School.I specialized in Seafood.
My Dad worked out of el Toro In New Mexico.

Angelone

• Ace Runner
  • A decent perfection
« Reply #1 on: <10-08-10/1227:27> »
Knowledge skills do not provide any type of in game bonus. They used to, I think it might have been a houserule, now they are background fluff or legwork related (Used to ID gangs, or neighborhoods).
REJOICE! For bad things are about to happen.
la vida no vale nada

The_Gun_Nut

• Ace Runner
« Reply #2 on: <10-08-10/1231:48> »
You could use the old rule that a completely relevant knowledge skill will aid the active skill by giving an extra die for every 2 hits scored on a knowledge test.  For example:  Small Watercraft knowledge (ski boats, personal fishing boats, etc.) could help you control or repair the ski boat you just "liberated" after making the knowledge test.  It wouldn't give you a huge bonus, even if you had maxed out Logic and the Knowledge skill (why would you?), but it would give you an edge in the upcoming die roll.
There is no overkill.

Only "Open fire" and "I need to reload."

Usda Beph

• Omae
  • aka Black Angus